Smithfield offers an abundance of civic, social, and religious organizations which allow for direct and positive involvement by citizens of all ages, including visitors.

The Town of Smithfield operates under the council-manager form of government. The town council consists of eight members, including the mayor and meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. at the Town Hall at 350 E. Market Street. Four council members are elected from specific geographical districts and three are elected at-large. All voting is non partisan. The Town of Smithfield operates its own utilities, public works, police and emergency services departments.

Council members hold policy making and legislative authority and are responsible for passing ordinances, adopting the budget, appointing Board and Commission members, the Town Manager and Town Attorney. The Town Manager is responsible for implementing and enforcing policies and ordinance of the Town Council and overseeing the day-to-day operations of the government.

Town of Smithfield
Eric Williams, City Manager
350 E. Market Street
Smithfield, NC 27577
Phone: 919-934-2116

Go to top